Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-20-2011, 03:54 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Sigma 530 DG ST on a K20

Hi Guys

As i am very new to external pttl flashes (by external i mean mounted on the hotshoe) i am looking for a 'bit' of help please!

I have the sigma 530 dg st as it was purchased at a silly aussie price, the super would have been a better choice i know, but the st was only $99, new with warranty from a reputable dealer.

OK if i mount the flash on the hotshoe, set the flash to TTL and the camera (as described in the poor instructions) to P, the camera in a lit room (tungsten and early morning light through the window) will set itself to 1/50 in the shorter reaches and 1/60 in the 60-70mm reaches and F2.8 regardless of what program line has been set to (speed, depth or MTF)

now i can change the aperture to f16+ (i'm testing in a small home office) and it will still expose ok but the shutter is still at 1/50

with the camera in M i can change both but the meter is saying its badly underexposed (i'm assuming because its metering the current light) and i know the flash does a pre flash to set the power output correctly, i'm assuming from the data regarding aperture and shutter from the camera.

i guess the question is that in P is this typical behaviour as 1/50 isnt much of a shutter speed, understanding that the actual flash is running at more than 1/1000th but with ambient light available more flash speed is required, it just seems that the camera in P mode doesnt want to give it, it would rather reduce flash output!

I was trying to find Steve Jacobs flash guide but it seems to have fallen off the internet.. so any pointers at somewhere that would help a 'dummy' with his flash gear would be greatly appreciated!

Steve

03-21-2011, 03:47 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
5: