Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-23-2011, 02:25 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Albums
Kx exposure problems

Hi everybody. I'm new to all of this and think that taking a class with a real live teacher is the way to go, but until then I'll see if I can get help here. I just got a KX (1st digital slr) and a great book called Understanding Exposure. The first assignment of the book was to set camera to manual and use as many combos as possible to get the correct exposure and compare pics to see what different combos produce. So I was excited to try that. I have two lenses, the kit lens and a cheap Promaster 70-300 macro. Anyway, after trying all of the different combos of shutter speeds and apertures and getting the meter right to the center with every one, nearly all of the kit lens pics came out dark and the 300 lens pics came out super bright. (BTW I was shooting at daffodils from about 2-5 ft away). So I tried again, this time deleberately overexposing the kit lens pics by about one line and underexposing the 300 lens by 1 line (stop? I don't know the lingo). No effect. I got very few correctly exposed pics. The kit lens pics were still too dark and the 300 lens too bright.

Do you think I'm doing something wrong or could the light meter in the Kx be way off? I intend to read the rest of the book, but I wish I could have access to Bryan Peterson to ask him directly. Any help is appreciated. The disappointing thing is that I thought I was finally learning something, but it didn't work out at all the way I thought it was supposed to.

03-23-2011, 02:40 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Can you post some of the pictures with exif?
Jake
03-23-2011, 05:56 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums