Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
03-25-2011, 05:47 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
A walk in the woods - which lens?

I am hoping to take a walk in the woods near my house this weekend. And I don't want to tote a camera bag with me. I'm new to dSLRs and interchangeable lenses, so I am seeking advice on which lens I should bring along.

I have the DA L 18-55mm and the DA L 55-300mm.

Which do you think is more suitable for this type of photography? I really don't know what to expect in terms of what will be interesting enough to shoot. Just looking for the most versatile option, I guess.

Thanks in advance.

03-25-2011, 05:53 AM   #2

Depends. (Doesn't it always???!!!) If you are wanting to shoot birds, animals, etc it would probably be better to take the telephoto zoom. If you are looking at nature shots of trees, flowers, plants, ponds, and streams, etc. then I would want the wide angle. Look at it this way--if you take the wide angle you will see the most beautiful 12 point buck you have ever imagined at about 150 yards away!
03-25-2011, 06:03 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Take both with you. My personal taste, I will use 55-300 more. I walk with kids, and need for longer reach. Walking alone, I go with the 18-55.
In my case, the best option is a cheap manual lens: M50 f4 macro.
03-25-2011, 06:09 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Well if you do not know what to expect than take your walk with no expectations.

I have two children under the age of six. When we go to parks I have created an excitement to also take short walks of exploration. I call it a "walking adventure" but it is really an opportunity for me to also take some photos. Normally I have already sort of chosen a lens at random to take with me before we have started. The "walking adventure" is just a good excuse to give that lens some exercise.