Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-29-2011, 05:12 PM   #1

Question about A series manual lens on K10D

Hi,
I'm new to photography and have been learning with a used K10D and its kit lens. I just bought a 50/1.7 A series Pentax manual lens and have been experimenting with it. There are loads of instructions for how to use the M series lenses, and the implication is that the A series lenses can do everything but auto focus. I can take pictures with it, but I can't seem to change any settings. Do I need to make changes in the menu? Should I be able to change shutter speed and aperture from the front and rear dials in the appropriate exposure modes? Are there any modes that don't work with the A series? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

03-29-2011, 05:18 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
the A series is like all the more modern lenses. set at A and then you control aperture from the thumb wheel just like the kit and other new lenses
all options on the camera are open to you except AF
with a K/M/M42 you are very limited
If you want the m experience then change the use of aperture ring to yes in your menu and take it off A. then it is pretty much the same as an M or K lens
03-29-2011, 05:19 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

For the a series lens the lens must be in the A position but otherwise yes except AF everything else will work
03-29-2011, 06:11 PM   #4
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Hi George and welcome.
The A series lenses are an excellent compromise of both world - the beautiful quality finish and smooth focusing mechanism of manual focus lenses, and the functionality of modern lenses.
Enjoy it.

03-30-2011, 06:53 AM   #5

Original Poster
Thanks