Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-30-2011, 01:53 PM   #1

Best lens combination for traveling with K-7 (street, landscapes, handicrafts)

Hi everyone,

K-7 and the 18-55mm WR were my first ever DSLR kit. I've been using them for about 6 months, now I'm thinking about an update of my lens collection because

(1) I'm becoming dissatisfied with the 18-55's ability to zoom
(2) I'm going on a 3-month trip this summer, I'd like to use wide-angle functions to capture the vast landscapes on my way!

Preferences
(1) Weather Resistant (not a defining factor)
(2) light zoom lenses are preferable as I'm quite tiny (5''2, can't hold a lot of weight), want to do lots of travel photography, and want flexibility to learn what ranges work best for me
(3) image quality is very important because I'm starting a blog and an online shop (handicrafts, artworks etc.)

I'd be willing to pay if the quality matches the price, but I won't be able to afford the likes of DA*

Current option:
Buy both Pentax 18-135mm WR (saw some great reviews) and Pentax 10-17mm (don't know much about this one), sell 18-55mm

Any other suggestions/comments please?

I'm glad I looked for something other than Canon/Nikon for my first camera... Pentax's great.
Thank you so much!

Last edited by ardentartichoke; 03-31-2011 at 07:20 AM.
03-30-2011, 02:15 PM   #2
Ira
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The 10-17 is incredible--but it's fisheye on the wide end. You can have a lot of fun with that, but dollar for dollar with your budget for an ultrawide angle, I think you're better off avoiding fisheye,

And the 18-135 doesn't help you on the wide end at all.

Isn't researching a new lens purchase a bitch? There's never an easy answer.

For $500, and for your upcoming trip, the Sigma 10-20 would fill a big hole, or the Pentax 12-24, but don't know the cost off-hand on that.