Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-01-2011, 09:13 AM   #1

Advice for first DSLR

I have been shooting with K1000's for over twenty years and only used a P&S for lab documentation while in school. The last six months has seen a lot of on line research into bodies and systems. The choice has come down to the K-r and K-7 for Pentax. Have even tossed around the idea of a used K20D as the filters, in camera processing and video of the other two are nice but not necessarily high on my requirement list. Most of my photography is landscape and travel oriented. Some portraiture and architecture get thrown in on rare occasions. I have seen posts in this and other forums concerning focusing issues with the K-r and most recommend the K-5 over the K-7. As to the option of purchasing a used K20D to get my feet wet, there is little advice to be found. Budget is a constraint and these are the three options I have so far considered:

1. K-7 with DA 35mm and 18-55mm WR
2. K-r with same lenses.
3. 20d again with same lenses.

Advice, pro/cons and comments greatly appreciated.

Pentax kit items from SLR include: 3 K1000 bodies; Pentax 50mm/1.2, 50mm/1.4, 50mm macro (all M); Maker unknown 28mm/2.8 auto; Albinar 35-70mm/3.5-4.8 auto zoom macro; Sears for Pentax 60-300mm/4.0-5.6 auto zoom macro; Soliger 28-80mm/3.5-4.5 zoom macro; Cambron(?) 28-200mm/4-5.6 auto zoom macro.

04-01-2011, 09:20 AM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I'd go with 3. Reasons:
A) probably less expensive than the other two options
B) better low light performance than the K-7
C) two control wheels (sometimes called e-dials) vs one for the K-r
D) readily available due to lots of ppl upgrading to K-5 (tho to be honest, K-7 almost as common)

NaCl(but you will get as many opinions as posters! )H2O
04-01-2011, 09:26 AM   #3

Original Poster