Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
04-05-2011, 11:10 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The more I read, the more confused.....

Hello,

I have a K20D with a Promaster 7500EDF flash. I want to step up and buy a "wireless" system and add a flash.

Doing research, I am getting a little confused with the terms being used, i.e. slave, wireless trigger, camera trigger, pop-up trigger etc?

Looking at some recommendations from here, I have looked at some wireless systems. Why are there cables included in the kits? Isn't wireless, wireless? What is a solid flash gun to compliment the Promaster? Do I need another PTTL flash? Can I go to the local camera store and find a used flash for $20? If not, what kind of flash do I need to look for?

I know this has been beat to death in the forum, but looking at different threads gets confusing even if there are about the same topic. Please bear with me and respond with any questions you have for me?

Thanks for all the great info as always!

04-06-2011, 12:31 AM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member

Hi.

Wireless system can be done easily, and for relatively cheap as well. I have approx 10 flashes, all use with radio trigger/receiver from ebay (pt04, dual hotshoe). The cables came with trigger/receiver are used to connect to flash units/strobes that do not have hotshoe.

The flash units can be expensive if you need p-ttp and build-in wireless. They are from 200usd and up. I have 2 sigma 530 super that can function with native pentax wireless protocol and more. 3 of mine are canon-ttl but also full manual, all others are manual, and they can buy used for 10usd each. Buy 3-4 for this price.

You need at least power vary (full, 1/2, 1/4, 1/8 etc). Tilt, swivel and flash zoom (motorized or pull/push head) are very good to have. If not, you need other means to adjust them.