Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-06-2011, 05:14 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
self timer vs wireless remote?

Being a beginner, I'm still learning the basics of using my new K-r. I read on Pentax's facebook page about using the self-timer at 2 seconds to invoke mirror lockup. They say this makes for even sharper photos when using a tripod because it limits shake and blur that might be caused by the mirror motion.

I have a wireless remote which I have been using with my tripod. My question is would I get better results using the self timer rather than the remote? Can mirror lockup work with the wireless remote as well?

I thought I was using the best approach with the remote since you don't have to touch the camera at all, but now I'm a bit confused. I'd really appreciate any advice!

Thanks much!

04-06-2011, 05:38 AM   #2
Veteran Member

If the K-r is like the K-7 one of the options is to use the remote with a 3-second delay, which gives all the advantages of the shutter delay.
04-06-2011, 05:49 AM   #3
OK5

The k-5 definitely has mirror lock up with remote control but I am not sure about the k-r as I am also a beginner and this is my first Pentax dslr. First slr actually.

Jake
04-06-2011, 06:00 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Yes you can use mirror lockup with 2 second delay or wireless release.

But I really don't think there will be much difference in outcome unless its a long exposure and you moving right next to the tripod is likely to cause vibration, eg timber floors. even then it wouldn't be very noticeable 95% of the time.
But If that was the case wireless is the way to go as you can keep well away from your setup.

I also suggest turning Shake Reduction(SR) OFF as it can introduce blur whilst on a tripod.

Last edited by Chaos_Realm; 04-06-2011 at 06:15 AM. Reason: miss read question.
04-06-2011, 06:32 AM   #5
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Chaos_Realm Quote