Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-13-2011, 09:00 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Low ISO

Hello, I am pretty much still a total noob and wish to ask a noobish question about ISO; I hope this is the right place.

I read the thread

https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/general-photography/72868-iso-ranges-low-...ease-look.html

but that did not answer this question exactly.

So, question: I just read this blog post

Saving the World One Pixel at a Time Blog Archive Expanded ISO Settings: Why I don’t like’em

and though it is about other camera's it got me wondering about my camera. I have a K200D and when there is light, I shoot at ISO 100 mostly. This article got me wondering if, like the Nikon's discussed, the K200D might be better off at ISO 200. Is it possible that 200 is the standard and going to 100 is actually some modification and not going to get better images?

Not that I am that great of a photographer that needs super results, just wanting to use the camera as it was meant to be used, when possible.

Thanks

04-13-2011, 10:40 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

The short answer is, you're fine at ISO 100.

The longer answer starts with post #3 in the thread you quoted:

QuoteOriginally posted by Marc Sabatella Quote
A sensor has one and only one "native" ISO - that is, it only actually collects photon at one given rate. All higher ISO's above that are created by amplifying the results collected at the native ISO. The more amplification, the more noise. A lower native ISO means more amplification is required to get to, say, ISO 1600. Meaning it's likely to be noisier at ISO 1600 than an otherwise-similar sensor with a higher native ISO.