Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-17-2011, 03:25 PM   #1
Forum Member

K-x low light shooting help

I just got a K-x, my first DSLR about 2 weeks ago. I took a few pictures indoors and noticed that I had to boost my ISO up to 5000 or 6400.

Name:  IMGP0563.jpg
Views: 532
Size:  497.1 KB
f3.5 iso5000 1/100s

-------------------------------
View Picture EXIF
Name:  IMGP0883.jpg
Views: 527
Size:  543.6 KB
f5.6 iso5000 1/125s

In the 1st picture, the noise isn't that noticable, but the dog moved so there was some blur. For indoor pics like children or pets, should I leave the shutter speed and a high iso, or should I go for a lower noise but risk blur.

If I lower the ISO, then that would mean that the slower shutter. I have a hard time deciding between sharpness or noise.

Since I am a student, i have a very tight budget. I'm currently saving up for a faster lens like the 35mm f2.4, but that might take a few months.

Overall, I need some opinions on how to improve my low light shooting. I have this party coming up and I would like to shoot some nice pictures.

04-17-2011, 03:44 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by jellyfish26 Quote
35mm f2.4
That will help a bit...or you can get a 50 mm f1.4, a bit long for some indoor shots...
Another way is to learn to use denoising software...or if you can't avoid noise, sometimes using B&W will make it look like film grain.

For indoor pics like children or pets, should I leave the shutter speed and a high iso, or should I go for a lower noise but risk blur.
Try it out yourself...shoot in every configuration imaginable till you find the one you'll be comfortable with.