Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-20-2011, 12:15 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Manual Flash Question(s)

Hello,

I have a K20D with a Promaster EDF7500 P-TTL flash gun. The P-TTL works great.
I also recently purchased the Cactus Wireless Flash Transceiver V5 Duo. I realize that they do not support P-TTL.
I also have an older Vivitar Auto Thyristor 550FD to use as a manual flash along with the Promaster in manual mode.

The problem, I don't quite understand how to effectively change the light output on the Vivitar. The Promaster has a digital interface and is very easy to understand. Here is the back of it. I found this image online. It is the same as the one I have:

Can someone explain what each slider does and how to change flash output? When I use the Vivitar, the image is totally blown out by the flash.
I guess I am a child of the "electronic age!"

Thanks

04-20-2011, 12:49 PM   #2

My Metz 36C2 is similar. The A1 and A2 is for high and low output separately. You can also use a small aperture at the same time. Just my 2 cents.
04-20-2011, 01:00 PM   #3
Pentaxian

You can't change the output of the Vivitar 550FD in manual mode. There is no ratio setting. It always fires at full power in manual.
04-20-2011, 01:05 PM   #4

QuoteOriginally posted by SOldBear Quote
You can't change the output of the Vivitar 550FD in manual mode. There is no ratio setting. It always fires at full power in manual.
Guess the Metz is different then. There are 3 "A" locations with different colors on Metz with different output. Please disregard my first reply.

04-20-2011, 01:16 PM - 1 Like   #5
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by metalmania Quote
Guess the Metz is different then. There are 3 "A" locations with different colors on Metz with different output. Please disregard my first reply.
Power ratios in manual and aperture settings in auto are two different animals.