Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-23-2011, 03:30 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Newbie Beginners Lens Question

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

I am totally new to digital SLR photography. I have an old Canon TX film camera with several FD lenses.

I just ordered a Pentax k7 and I am wondering if I will be able to use any of my old lenses with it, or do I have to start with newer lenses.

Appreciate any feedback from the group.

04-23-2011, 03:36 PM   #2
hcc
Pentaxian

I believe that none of the Canon lenses will fit on your K-7 (without a special adapter). Get a Pentax lens (eg the kit lens) for a start.

Last edited by hcc; 04-24-2011 at 03:38 PM.
04-23-2011, 03:38 PM   #3
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

You can use those lenses if you have an FD to K-mount converter. I have no personal experience with those, but they may be hard to find (and a Canon lens on a Pentax camera just doesn't look right! ). You may have to find an FD to M42 and an M42 to K-mount if none are available.

Welcome here, and hope you find the forum useful. Perhaps we can stir up some interest in you in the excellent Pentax lenses there are available...
04-23-2011, 03:52 PM   #4

Original Poster
Thanks. That is what I thought.

04-23-2011, 03:56 PM   #5

Original Poster
I will without a doubt being purchasing Pentax products for the camera in future. I'm extremely excited about learning digital photography using the K7!
04-23-2011, 04:01 PM   #6
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery