Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
04-29-2011, 04:29 AM   #1

Can I use my old lenses? MZ7 to K5 or am I trying to punch above my weight

I am new to DSLR and considering replacing my SLR with a DSLR. A couple of questions:

- Am I trying to punch above my weight by going to a K5 from an MZ7? I am an amateur at photography generally and restricted to a few photos for pleasure (particularly love using macro for close up of foliage, building textures and animals) and holidays.

- I have an MZ7 purchased in 2000 with Sigma lenses. A Sigma 28-80 with macro at 80 plus a Sigma 100-300. Can these lenses be used? I have been told various things including; no they won't work, they'll only work on manual, apply a factor of 1.6 (meaning the 28-80 will act as 45-128, etc. I have no idea what to believe anymore.

I couldn't exactly find the specific answers so I am really sorry if this has been covered before

04-29-2011, 04:31 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Yes, the lenses will work, and if they work in auto on your mz, they will work in auto mode on the k5. 28 on digital gives the same field of view as 42 on film, so the lens won't seem as wide as usual, but other than that it should be perfectly usable.

The k5 has a lot of advanced features, but it's fairly simple to operate in P or green mode even if you're a beginner.
04-29-2011, 04:48 AM   #3

Original Poster
Thanks for the quick response. So that means I would need to buy another lens to get a wider field of view?

I was offered a 2 yr old Canon Eos 450D for $800 with an 18-155 and 55-250 lenses. So I am torn with my love for my Pentax and the lure of an affordable upgrade to DSLR.

Probably the wrong forum to ask about changing to another brand!
04-29-2011, 04:53 AM   #4

Original Poster
Thanks a lot for your quick reply. So does this mean I need to get a lens that gives me a wider field of view?