Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-05-2011, 01:29 PM   #1

Bell+ howell?

Hi there,
just starting out with photography, and i am just learning as i go,
i am looking for a flash unit for my pentax k-x, and have spotted a brand called bell+howell, can you let me know if they are any good, and would you recommend them, or any others. Just getting used to using the site as well, theres alot of information on it.
Thanks.

05-05-2011, 01:45 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I have the Bell & Howell Z680 flash for my K-r. Good news is it works! Bad news is I'm not a great person to ask because I've just begun with dSLR and hotshoe flash, so I don't know much about how to properly use it.

I do like that it has bounce and swivel capability. It does have P-TTL and it does work automatically with the K-r, and I would assume the K-x. It does not have high speed sync capability, which I'm not real familiar with but is a deal-breaker for many.

I got this unit because it was less than $100 and I just couldn't afford more at this point. I'm happy with the purchase so far, but in the future, I think I'll probably want to upgrade to a better unit with more features. However, this will help me learn about external flashes and hold me over while I add to my collection of other accessories.

Jury is out on durability, battery use, etc.
05-05-2011, 01:52 PM   #3

I looked up Bell and Howell flash units and saw a few different models in there line-up. You can try looking up this flash on the data base this web site has to see how it rates if it is listed.

You can learn a lot from others on this site about photography in all its forms. Just take your time to find out what you want from picture taking. I have been at it for 30 years and still find out someing new to learn after all this time, Have fun with your new camera!!
05-05-2011, 02:00 PM   #4
Veteran Member