Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-07-2011, 06:46 AM   #1

Image over-exposure using Av on a K-m

I've been using my K-m for over two years now and been very happy with it. I normally use P mode because the end results come out just fine for me.

Recently there have been a couple of situations where I required an greater depth of field. Dialing in a small aperture such a f16 and firing the shutter resulted in images that were far too bright, even though the information recorded by the camera could be interrelated to "correctly" exposed shots at different aperture/shutter combinations. Trying different lenses made no difference and produced similar results. This has made me draw the conclusion that the camera must have some sort of mechanical problem as the brighter the subject is and the more I stop the lens down the greater the image's overexposure becomes.

At the moment I'm loathed to part with the camera and send it away to be checked so was wondering if there were any tests I could conduct to establish the problem's cause.

I will also say that similar things occur when using the camera in M and Tv modes. As I've said P mode works fine.

05-07-2011, 07:00 AM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome aboard. Sounds like it's time to learn what your meter is really telling you..

https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-beginners-corner-q/141538-metering-av-tv-mode.html

Be sure to follow any links I give in the thread.

05-07-2011, 07:00 AM - 1 Like   #3
Pentaxian

Put it on manual mode, choose a 10 second exposure, f/16. Press the shutter and look at the aperture when it closes. Is it really f/16?
05-07-2011, 08:04 AM   #4

Original Poster
Thanks JeffJS, I'm going to have to read through the threads you offered a couple of times for it to sink in and really understand what's going on. I thought Av would be fairly straightforward, looks like I'm well off the path.