Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-07-2011, 11:15 AM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Albums
"slack" lens?

Before starting, I have to say that I'm new to the more 'serious' photographic equipment - serious may be an exaggeration - I've recently acquired an ME Super in excellent cosmetic condition (only bought from e-bay for it's low price and the useful range of the 28-80 zoom lens mounted on it - bought more for the lens than the body) after receiving a tatty old black MX as a Christmas present (which I was very pleased to get)

I have a small assortment of M lenses in various conditions (50mm 1.7, 135mm f3.5, 40mm f2.8, 70 - 200mm f4.5) All perfectly usable and all 'feel' very similar - weighty without feeling heavy, all having a smooth, damped operation of focus (and zoom) giving a little resistance when used - also with a positive 'clicky' aperture ring.

The A series short zoom 28-80 lens I got with the ME Super feels very different. While it is in very good cosmetic condition with nice clean optics, adjusting both focus and zoom is a very 'loose' affair - no resistance whatsoever and feels terrible to use because of it.

Is this normal for A series lenses or is there something wrong? If this isn't normal for this type of lens, is there anything I could do to adjust it?

I'd appreciate any help or comments you can give.

Many thanks,

Gary.

05-07-2011, 11:27 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
No, that's not normal- it's a sign that the lens has seen extensive use.

Does your A lens otherwise look like an F lens? Toward the end of the A series Pentax did produce a few plasticky MF lenses which otherwise look like AF lenses- I'm not sure how they handle, but maybe they're more loose than they should be.

See our lens database at Pentax Reviews - Pentax Lens Reviews & Pentax Lens Database for more details
05-07-2011, 11:43 AM   #3
Forum Member

Original Poster