Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
05-16-2011, 05:43 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Do different lenses affect noise level/quality?

I just got a DA 35mm/f2.4 lens and in using it, I've noticed that the noise level in my shots at higher ISO is either much less or more palatable than in other lenses I've used. By more palatable, I guess I mean it's a bit easier to address in Lightroom.

I have the kit 18-55, the DA L 55-300, and the A 50 1.7. The K-r handles noise admirably anyway, but I just feel like it's even better with the DA 35 attached.

I'm a newb, and I assumed that noise was the camera body's responsibility. Does focal length play into it? I'm much more likely to let this lens shoot at higher ISO than my others, which makes it more enjoyable and more versatile. Even though the DA35/2.4 is slower than the A50/1.7 (which I also love!), my comfort with higher ISO makes it seem faster, if that makes sense.

I admit I have done no testing to confirm this. This is just my quick observation after owning the lens for several days and taking probably 250 shots.

I'm very pleased by this, but just curious why I'd see a noticeable difference with this particular lens. Thanks for any thoughts you might have on this.

05-16-2011, 06:02 AM - 1 Like   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Albums
Physics says the lens should have no effect on noise levels at a particular ISO.

Noise depends on how many light photons are received by the sensor and what the camera does to them - it doesn't matter how they got there.