Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
05-16-2011, 07:53 AM   #1

Common mistakes made by beginners ?

I was thinking it would be nice to have a topic where people share with others the mistakes that they used to do as beginners so that we all know that we're not alone and maybe cut off the frustration some of us might be going trough .As we are all humans i am sure we all make the same mistakes at first .I am an amateur but i like to think i am aware of some common mistakes that i still make ,even though i like to think i am aware of them .I own the k-r + the 16-50 da f2.8

So ,what are the most common mistakes beginners do ? Please add

1.Not being aware of the big,sometimes huge dynamic range in a scene often resulting in fried highlights or pitch black shadows .I mean ,we see a scene ,it looks great in our eyes ,we want to capture it but the thing is the camera does not have the sensitivity of our eyes ,it needs more balanced light

2.Not setting a custom white balance often resulting in ugly color casts and unnatural looking subjects

3.Not looking for a background or a foreground for the subject ,often one sees something nice and just shoots away to capture it ,and if it does ,and i often do that ,i am not fully aware of how that background of foreground will interact with the subject ,i often find it that that background or foreground steals the attention away from the subject

4. Not focusing properly ,i often want to apply the rule of thirds but i forget to lock the focus on the subject so i get the focus somewhere in the middle

5.Choosing the worst moments of the day to shoot pictures ,most people go in the middle of the day instead of early mornings or late afternoons

6.Not keeping things simple ,always adding a lot of stuff in the frame

well i still do all of this things unfortunately ...

please add mistakes that you used to do or still do ,i am sure we'll all benefit from being aware of them