Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
05-19-2011, 05:24 AM   #31
Inactive Account

Speaking as a beginner myself (less than three weeks behind a dSLR):

1) Because controlling DoF is hard on a P&S and easy on my K-x, EVERY PICTURE MUST HAVE A BLURRED BACKGROUND. I have my excuses (my normal settings are cluttered, I mostly shoot portraits, etc), and I hope to grow as a photographer. Nonetheless, see exhibit A.

2) I had (still have!) elevated expectations of my equipment. I overestimated the capability/ease of dSLR's sharpness, sensitivity, and AF. I wanted perfect AF in low light with no flash! I wanted pixel-peeping sharpness from my kit lens! (I still want these things, BTW.) As it turns out, my "entry level" camera requires lots of practice (which I am enjoying greatly!), and now LBA may be setting in...

05-19-2011, 05:45 AM   #32
Forum Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Monkey Mash Button Quote
Speaking as a beginner myself (less than three weeks behind a dSLR):

1) Because controlling DoF is hard on a P&S and easy on my K-x, EVERY PICTURE MUST HAVE A BLURRED BACKGROUND. I have my excuses (my normal settings are cluttered, I mostly shoot portraits, etc), and I hope to grow as a photographer. Nonetheless, see exhibit A.

2) I had (still have!) elevated expectations of my equipment. I overestimated the capability/ease of dSLR's sharpness, sensitivity, and AF. I wanted perfect AF in low light with no flash! I wanted pixel-peeping sharpness from my kit lens! (I still want these things, BTW.) As it turns out, my "entry level" camera requires lots of practice (which I am enjoying greatly!), and now LBA may be setting in...

Wow, MMB, you completely read my mind. All I have to say is "Ditto" or +1 or "Scary how much that's me."

(And maybe it's because I'm a beginner, too, but I think your photos in exhibit A are quite nice. )
05-19-2011, 08:17 AM   #33
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery