Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-19-2011, 08:08 PM   #1

k10d question

Ok so i still thinking of buying this k10 d slr i am new to slrs i am used to dials with pictures on them as far what i want to take pics of. I have been looking at the different modes of the camera in some reviews, my question is until i get used to the camera is there a setting for full auto i can set till i get used to the camera itself. This seems to be maybe more camera than i need.

Thanks
john

05-19-2011, 08:24 PM   #2
Forum Member

Hey John...... if you`re unsure when deciding on a setting to get started with the K10, just try Program(P) and start clicking. This is usually the setting I have set as default for my wife to use, it gives decent results for most of her photo needs.
Don`t feel overwhelmed by all the different modes on the K10... just try them all!!!! I have the K20 also .... nice upgrade from the 10 (which is still a great value).
Best of luck with your choice!!

Last edited by ponyt27; 05-19-2011 at 08:25 PM. Reason: typo
05-20-2011, 12:48 AM   #3

there's full auto and P, which is almost full auto, but you get to tell the flash to turn on or not and change the ISO settings and the exposure compensation, etc.
05-20-2011, 01:27 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
John i use a K10d [along with a couple of other bodies] on a daily basis for commercial work and I have to admit that in pressure situations where I don't have time to faff about looking at settings I switch to p mode [rather than green as it does give a bit of control]and bang away.
the most important thing to set for you when using either of the modes suggested by hawk1500 is to set what is the program [think of it as programED mode in the menu. you have a choice of several and it can make a big difference.
basic program setting = camera goes for the best balance between speed/ aperture/ISO