Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
05-22-2011, 01:20 AM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
Sigma vs Tamron. What are the differences?

Hi.
I'm new to Pentax and to world of DSLR. I bought the K-x model, and I like it very much. The camera came with a 18-55mm kit lens only, and now I want to buy a lens with telephoto ability.
Since I'm not a professional photographer, and I don't like big bags , I'd like to buy a lens with a wide range. My preferred one is Pentax DA 18-250mm f/3.5-6.3, but it's too expensive for me.
While searching on B&H website, I came across two brands, that make lenses for Pentax: Sigma and Tamron.
I have some questions :
1) Are there any significant differences between 2 lenses with the same zoom/aperture range, made by these brands?
2) Are these lenses 100% compatible with my camera? What should I check before buying one of them?
3) I've noticed (from lenses' pics) that they have a AF/MF switch, which is also present on the K-x's body. Does it mean that I have to use both of these switches in same positions, or one overrides the other?
4) (generally speaking) are there any other special dials/switches on these lenses, which I don't have on my DA 18-55mm?

Thanks

05-22-2011, 01:25 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Sigma lenses are generally of higher quality, and may have move features (OS, HSM), but both brands should be fully functional on your k-x.

The AF/MF switch issue depends on lens. If it's a Pentax or a Sigma lens, setting the switch on the lens will suffice in going to MF. On some tamron lenses, such as the 70-200mm, you have to use both.
05-22-2011, 06:22 AM - 1 Like   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Answers:

1. There is no general answer to this question. If you review the lens review data base on this site, you will see there are differences and different opinions on between similar lenses from both Tamron and Sigma.