Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-23-2011, 02:59 PM   #1

K-5 Sigma 18-250 EXIF lens type missing

I am brand new to Pentax, having been a Nikon user for years. I just purchased a K-5 and just love its performance and feature set.

I have tried both the Tamron 18-200 and the Sigma 18-250. In general, the Sigma is a much better lens in terms of build quality, lens creep and usability.

However, one issue I am having with the Sigma is that the lens type does not show in any software have tried, including Lightroom 3.3 and EXIFTool. I use the Lens type for a lot of filtering in Lightroom. In addition, Lightroom has a lens proifile for the Sigma 18-250 for automatic lens corrections, but since the EXIF data is either missing or not decipherable, I cannot use this feature without manually setting the lens type. The other EXIF data like aperature, focal length, speed, etc. shows OK.

Can anyone help with this issue?

05-23-2011, 03:43 PM   #2
hcc
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to the Forum and congratulations for joining Pentax.

The Sigma 18-250mm is considered superior to the older 18-200mm lenses. However a third option is the Pentax DA18-250mm. You can find some excellent copies in the marketplace, in reputed 2nd hand equipment stores (keh.com. adorama.com) and ebya beteen US$350-450. The DA18-250mm is highly regarded and it is recognised in most photo softwares.

Food for thoughts....
05-23-2011, 03:56 PM   #3
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by Eliglass Quote
but since the EXIF data is either missing or not decipherable, I cannot use this feature without manually setting the lens type. The other EXIF data like aperature, focal length, speed, etc. shows OK.