Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-24-2011, 09:29 AM   #1
Forum Member

Focus: AF.C

Hi, I'm still new to DSLR. I've been studying about how to use my different focus options and trying them out since I often get the AF focusing on the wrong thing.

I put it on center single point auto focus and AF.S seems easy enough. It's AF.C that I am having a lot of trouble with.

When I'm in AF.C it doesn't seem to follow my subject like I think it should. It seems to just refocus on whatever is in the center of the frame. This is both when recomposing (which I know is better with AF.S) or when subject is actually moving. If I put out my hand and focus on it...then before releasing the shutter move it to the side, it refocuses on whatever is in the background in the center rather than following my hand.

Any ideas, or tips?

05-24-2011, 09:39 AM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
That is the intended purpose of AF.C. Your description is correct.
05-24-2011, 09:54 AM   #3
Forum Member

Original Poster
I"m sorry if this sounds dumb (remember I'm new at this), but why would it be good for action and moving subjects (like my dog or kid) then if it just going to keep refocusing on whatever is in the middle?
05-24-2011, 10:05 AM   #4
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by mhaws Quote
I"m sorry if this sounds dumb (remember I'm new at this), but why would it be good for action and moving subjects (like my dog or kid) then if it just going to keep refocusing on whatever is in the middle?
You're supposed to follow the subject with the focus point. Then, as it moves, it stays in focus, and you can shoot continuously with the subject always in focus. In AF.S, the camera would focus once, so subsequent shots would be out of focus, because the subject moved from that spot.

05-24-2011, 11:01 AM   #5
Veteran Member