Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-27-2011, 05:00 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
anyone else feel self-conscious?

I'm relatively new to this and one problem that keeps coming up and is sort of inhibiting me from getting some shots I'd like is self-consciousness.

I find when I'm out and about with my camera that I sometimes feel kind of awkward about getting out there and getting my shot. For example, if I'm driving along and see something I want to photograph, I'll pull over, but as I'm walking over to set myself up, I worry about the people in the cars going by and whether they are wondering what I'm doing or why I'm doing it. What if the property owner is looking and not happy?

Even when I was taking some photos on the grounds at work, I felt kind of odd about it. Like people were looking and wondering what I was up to. I have no idea how street photographers manage!

Does anyone else have to fight this feeling? How do you get past it? Or am I just weird?

05-27-2011, 05:13 AM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I do actually know how you feel & I'm not sure of a way to get over it yet.

The problem lies with how suspicious people are today (perhaps with good cause, perhaps whipped up by the media). If you're a photographer with a DSLR you are probably:

1 - Terrorist
2 - If you accidentally photography a child you're automatically a (potential) child molester

It is worse in the UK, cops there feel they have the right to bully anyone with a camera, especially those with DSLRs.

If you pull out a little point and shoot, nobody really cares, put your DSLR on a tripod, then suddenly that's a big issue. Shoot with your cellphone and nobody even notices.

I think DSLR spells 'Pro', especially with a tripod, therefore you're going to make money from these photos, therefore, the subjects should have a share of what you're going to make.