Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-30-2011, 12:53 PM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
Watermarking a picture for protection

I am just wanting to know how to watermark a picture. I have a "home" picture editing program, but I can't do it there. I don't want the mark to show unless someone tries to grab the picture and print it for themself.

05-31-2011, 02:16 AM   #2
hcc
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I have placed my photographs over the net for over 12 years, some were stolen and re-used improperly by unscrupulous individuals. I may share two comments:

*When I want to put watermarks, it is visible all the time. I found that this dissuade some.

*I also enter my details as photographer and copyright holder in the EXIF automatically in-camera. This is a feature of K-7 and other recent Pentax dSLR.

Hope that the comment will help...
05-31-2011, 09:16 AM   #3
Veteran Member

I'm not an expert in watermarking, but I can't imagine how a watermark that doesn't show on screen could somehow appear on a print. The point of an invisible watermark as far as I know is simply to provide a way of proving an image is yours. If you want it to show on the print, it's going to show on screen too, unless someone has figured out some special clever way of constructing watermarks that exploit something particular about how certain printers works that could make an otherwise invisible watermark appear when printed on those printers. And I doubt it would be possible to make it work for any but one particular line of printer.

The normal way to discourage prints is to simply not post anything high enough resolution to print. Something 400x600 pixels, for instance, is a nice viewing size online, but wouldn't print worth much.
06-01-2011, 04:56 AM   #4
Site Supporter