Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-09-2011, 11:40 PM - 1 Like   #76
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
I like...

I like the Pentax magnifier. Seems to be good optics and the extended eyecup makes it easier to keep my nose off the screen. I may eventually get a split screen, but I like to think that my eyes aren't too bad as of yet.

I am just getting into MF'ing recently but I am finding that there are a few different techniques that work for varying conditions. One example is the catch in focus tool. It is sometimes difficult to stop turning the focusing ring when AF kicks in. Hence the pic can be slightly out of focus especially with a slower shutter speed. I think that CIF is really meant for moving targets that you can anticipate a pre-focus point for and wait until the subject passes into focus. That said, I have gotten some decent results just using CIF while turning the focus ring and having the shutter trigger automatically.

Following someone else's direction, it is sometimes helpful to trigger fully MF'ing, and maybe just use the AFindicator to help with fine tuning only.

I do enjoy MF'ing much more than AF'ing. Cheap old mint glass, manual settings - what more could you ask for? (100% success, I guess. Not going to happen for me anyway.)

08-10-2011, 06:35 AM   #77
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by lammie200 Quote
I am just getting into MF'ing recently but I am finding that there are a few different techniques that work for varying conditions.
Yes, as I think I mentioned 'way back there somewhere, I use several techniques, not depending on just one.

* Catch-in-focus -- such a wonderful tool!
* Focus confirmation -- wait for the green shield
* Split-screen -- useful in adequate light
* Zone focusing -- hyperfocus for DOF
* Measure the distance -- or pace it off
* Cheat -- use an AF lens when necessary
* Really cheat -- use a laser rangefinder