Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-06-2011, 02:08 PM   #1

Kx and going to a Formula 1 race - which lens?

Hi, I'm a newbie

I'm also rather a newbie to the world of SLR cameras!

My husband bought me a Pentax Kx for Christmas and I've been experimenting but blindly getting some good shots by luck I think. I do want to learn though and will put myself on a course very soon.

We're going to the British Grand Prix in 4 weeks time and I want to take some rather awesome pictures if I can. We've got seats on Club Corner which I understand has a bend and a straight bit of track.

I currently only have the lens that came with the Kx - a 18mm-55mm. I want to buy a longer lens and have read up a bit on here that the Pentax 55mm-300mm is a sweet lens but it's a little out of my price range currently due to an expensive holiday booked a few weeks ago (which I might add is to San Fran/Las Vegas/Orlando/Miami and of course I will be taking pictures there too if that affects anyone's opinion on lenses?)

What would people's current suggestions be and why? Any other lenses that you would recommend too? What about filters? I heard that any Pentax lens will work on my Kx - to what extent is this true?

I really don't know much at all so please be patient and thank you in advance!

06-06-2011, 02:13 PM   #2
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Run_Lola Quote
Hi, I'm a newbie

I'm also rather a newbie to the world of SLR cameras!

My husband bought me a Pentax Kx for Christmas and I've been experimenting but blindly getting some good shots by luck I think. I do want to learn though and will put myself on a course very soon.

We're going to the British Grand Prix in 4 weeks time and I want to take some rather awesome pictures if I can. We've got seats on Club Corner which I understand has a bend and a straight bit of track.