Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
06-10-2011, 01:35 PM   #1

Saves to both JPG and PEF; Undesired

Hi all! I'm totally new to photography, but I aim to get into it. I bought a Pentax K-5 with a standard 18-55mm zoom lens. (I plan to get better lenses as I can afford them.)

So here I am with first (of probably very many) questions: my PK-5 is saving my image files to both JPG and PEF format every time I take a picture. I can't figure out how to shut that off. I didn't even know the camera could do that. So how do I shut it off?

Thanks!

-Rob (Shoal)

06-10-2011, 01:47 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Your camera is set on raw+ format. In your options goto file format and change it to jpeg to save the one or raw for that format. Should be locate in the red tabs dont recall what it is exactly
06-10-2011, 02:23 PM   #3

Original Poster
Ah, so that's what "RAW+" means! I should've checked that in the manual. I assumed it was a higher quality image. Thanks!
06-10-2011, 03:20 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Once you get even more into photography be sure to find out exactly what you get when you shoot JPEG vs RAW (PEF or DNG).

The short version:

JPEG - The camera will do some post processing to make it look better before displaying the image and locks up some of the post processing options so that you cannot modify them.

RAW - The camera does nothing to the image (leaves it RAW) and allows you complete control over the post processing (via Photoshop or other programs).

06-11-2011, 01:19 AM   #5
Veteran Member

I use RAW+ as there isn't a codec for W7x64 so that it can view the PEF files. The JPG is set to a small size - 2MB I think. That lets me browse the folders for images, plus the JPG is sometimes OK for uploading to Flickr or for a quick resize to email. But any worthwhile image I want the RAW.
06-11-2011, 02:41 AM - 1 Like   #6
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by Shoal Quote