Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-14-2011, 08:28 PM   #1

Kx for sports?

Hi All, newbie here with zero DSLR knowledge. Bought this camera so me & wifee could shoot vacation family pics and daughter's sport activities pics. Is there a zoom lens I can use with my Kx to shoot decent sport pics? And if so, how and what settings should I use? So far we only use the autofocus and default settings. It seems to get pretty good pics when theres enough light but some pretty awful ones in low light situations. Someone posted that its probably better to have the autofocus on center rather than 5 or 11 pt. Any advice would be appreciated and Thanks in advance!!!

06-14-2011, 08:55 PM   #2
Forum Member

For sports use center autofocus and a high shutter speed of at least 1/500.
The DA 55-300mm lens would be able to shoot sports.
06-14-2011, 10:05 PM   #3
Site Supporter

Awful pics in what way? You'd need to post them with EXIF info intact so we can see what the problem might be.
06-14-2011, 10:05 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
As Jelly said the DA 55-300 would do just fine but there are other much more expensive lenses that will do a much better job, the Tamron 70-200 just to name one. It all depends on your budget.

As for technique, this is a tricky one because not all settings will work for all sports. Indoor, outdoor, baseball vs football, can all have an affect on the settings you use. A general rule of thumb is to use a fast shutter speed. This is where a better lens comes in. The Tamron 70-200 has a aperture of 2.8 where as the DA 55-300 goes from 4-5.6 which is considerably slower. The best advice I can give you is to try and shoot at the fastest shutter speed the situation will allow and tweak the ISO to achieve this. Trial and error. I learned a lot after just shooting one football game and one basketball game. Good luck.

06-15-2011, 01:07 AM   #5
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums