Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-16-2011, 04:25 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Time lapse with KX advice please :)

Hi

Hoping you guys can help me with some time lapse questions. Ignorant newbie here!

I've got the intervalometer set up, so ready to go. I'll be shooting a pastel painting that I'm doing. It will be taken indoors with natural light. I've just got the kit lense.

What is the best image resolution? I've set it to jpeg 10m, will that be ok?

I've been reading previous threads on the subject and setting the white balance seems important, but means nothing to me, so what would be best to set it at? I see there are a lot of choices.

I got totaly lost when reading something about 180 degrees but that seemed important for a smooth result.

I realise the results will probably be pants first time round as I'm working blind, new to the camera and dslr! I can change things to improve things in future as I learn, but i'd like it to be as good as I can for now, so any advice would be great!

Thank you

06-16-2011, 04:38 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
The resolution depends on what you are going to do with it.

1080p (HDTV) is 1920 x 1080 pixels, which is a smidgen over 2 megapixels, so 10mp will be more than adequate if you are going to use the images to make a movie.

If you want to print some of them as stills you might want to stick with 10, but otherwise you will probably want to resize to 1920 * 1080 anyway, whatever size the orginals, so you might as well shoot as close to that you can.