Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-20-2011, 07:10 AM   #1

Lens for indoor family photos- new Kx user

I just bought an almost new Kx this weekend and it should be arriving at my house in a day or two. The camera is coming with an older Pentax 50mm SMC f2.0 lens with A settings, a Sigma 50-200mm F4-5.6 DC OS HSM lens, and a Sigma 70-300 f4-5.6 DG Macro (Motorized) lens. I do not have a flash.

I am new to the entire DSLR scene. I have been doing a lot of reading and research into lenses and such, and am looking for a lens to do indoor low light family type photography that won't break the bank. I've been looking at the Sigma 18-50mm f/2.8-4.5 DC OS HSM zoom lens ($200), but am a bit unsure if the aperature is low enough and the focal length short enough to get decent indoor family group photos without a flash (if possible). We are going on vacation in a week, so I would like to have something to take along for the trip. As I said I've been doing a lot of reading around, and haven't come across a good answer to this. If a flash really is must, what are some suggestions? I realize this isn't a really powerful option, but Amazon has the Bell and Howell Z480AF-P P-TTL flash for only $34.92. Seems like a pretty good deal.

Last edited by voigts; 06-20-2011 at 08:11 AM.
06-20-2011, 08:09 AM   #2
Pentaxian