Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
06-24-2011, 02:13 AM   #1

Image editing for Macs

So I'm only a beginner. . . haven't even bought my camera yet
I want some sort of software for editing and manipulation
I have aperture installed on my Mac, Is this worthwhile software to have?
I now Gimp can be used on the Mac, but not having played around a lot and not really understanding what I can do with it, I'm a bit unsure of it?

Can anybody recommend something that's reasonably full featured, user friendly, and available for Mac, freeware is great but I understand you get what you pay for and it might be worth investing in some decent software

Any advice?

06-24-2011, 02:26 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Definitely give gimp a try, and if you don't like the interface but do like the capabilities, give photoshop or photoshop elements a try.
06-24-2011, 02:35 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
gimp is great, there are plenty of tutorials out on the internet that'll help you learn to use it. Its not the most user friendly, but i found it to be really good for what you "pay" for it.
photoshop is the industry standard, but also costs quite a bit =\ However, the price is definitely worth it as i find it a lot more user friendly than gimp and, as a result, my workflow is a lot faster with it. Student price is a little under $200.
photoshop lightroom is what i primarily do everything on, its very intuitive, easy to use and pretty much all my photos go through it, even the ones that are eventually sent to photoshop for further edits. With the student discount, it comes down to a little under $100

aperture is pretty good imo, although i dont have much experience with it. i prefer lightroom but if i was forced to use it, i can definitely get aperture and gimp into my workflow.