Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-27-2011, 05:34 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Ready to move beyond the popup flash

I've been shooting a dslr for awhile now, but I'm a complete novice at flash & was looking for some recommendations. I have 2 older cameras, an istD and a K100D. I know the istD is TTL capable, but I'm pretty sure the K100D is not. I don't do a lot of shooting with flash, so what might be a decent basic unit that I can use with both cameras? Seems like the old tried & true AF280T would be an option? Thanks for any suggestions!

06-27-2011, 06:09 PM   #2
Veteran Member

You will get varied responses I'm sure. But heres my take on things.

Flash is fun - but get it off camera. On-Axis is 95% of the time ugly. Off-Camera gives massive amounts of additional control and compositional elements to your image. Its also far simpler than it seems. (Doing it 'well' is another story..... lol).
I spent a fair amount of time sussing out how/what to invest in Speedlite wise... and heres what I came to.

TTL is nice - but expensive, and unpredictable. It'll add from $200 -> $500 to the flash, and you can fire off the same shot 5 times and get 5 different exposures. This equates to very low 'repeatability' or 'control'.

The advantage of course is, you can *potentially* - forget about controlling the flash and just 'run and gun'... hoping TTL gets it more right more often than not.

Also - the cheaper TTL controllable flashes endup providing the expensive TTL bit by usually greatly reducing power, which means the Flash-to-subject Distances you can work with are greatly reduced. I can easily light someone 10M's away with a '560.... you'd be hard up doing that with a AF360 or AF280 (which puts out about half the light that a YN-560 does.....)