Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-03-2011, 10:41 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Photography Clubs/Societies ? Worth it ? Or is there something better than Flickr?

I'm a complete babe in the woods really when it comes to photography... But I'm slowly starting to see improvements from my self-taught efforts.

However - one area I know I suck at - is composition. Now I've gotten some great feedback here on the forum in the Critique section - but I also don't want to bore/flood the forum either ( sometimes feedback can also be rather hit and miss around here - i guess based on where your post ends up in Active Topics...) . I do however.. need help. Probably a fair bit. my photography could also do with improvement

So what are peoples impressions of joining clubs/socities ? I appreciate it has lots to do with *which* association/club and where.. but by the same token, I read so many people stating they really didn't end up getting anywhere near what they thought they would out of it... Do I perhaps have the wrong assumption about them or would they be an ideal outlet?

What I'm after is some sort of forum (physical or virtual) where I can look to expand my abilities and interact a little more on the technical side of it... Flickr is great for inspiration, but I find it lacks entirely in the form of genuine feedback/critique...

Anyway - Look forward to some feedback, comments etc. And whilst I wont hold out, there is a few locals around, so if anyone knows of something club/group wise nearby that would be cool also ..

Thanks all!

07-03-2011, 11:07 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Thos website is excellent, try the challenges and game sections, some of the projects and challenges allow you to work on composition. You won't always get feedback, but if you honestly want feedback, accept it when you get it.
07-04-2011, 12:20 AM   #3
Veteran Member