Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
07-16-2011, 08:28 AM   #1
Inactive Account

White balance issues :(

At least I think that's the problem!

I'm a newbie to DSLR. I've recently bought a K-x with kit lense 18-55, but I'm really unhappy with the shots I'm taking as they all look so dull All my pictures look like they've been taken in low light or on overcast days. I've tried to adjust the white balance but no matter what I do whites never look white.
I can adjust the images afterwards on my comp which is suddenly like the sun has come out and they look normal.

So were am I going wrong? Is it my limitations, the camera or the lense?

I was shooting in beautiful daylight the other day but my pictures all turned out pants

I had a Nikon D40 breifly about 3 years ago and I didn't have any problems with that, they were great shots!

Could the camera even be faulty?

Feeling very disappointed, hope you can help.

07-16-2011, 08:37 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
As usual, you must post an example to get meaningful help. However, you can adjust saturation and contrast in the camera if you are shooting jpgs. These settings have no effect on raw files, which you process on your computer.
07-16-2011, 08:40 AM   #3
Inactive Account

Original Poster
Sorry, that was obvious really, oops! I'll get something up, though I might be some time lol!
07-16-2011, 09:10 AM   #4
Inactive Account

Original Poster
The paper is cream btw. Highlights are white.
They were taken in the conservatory with beautiful bright but soft afternoon light. It was sunny but not glaring (no hard shadows) in real life.

The first is taken with camera set on auto.
The second is one click of auto adjust on my comp. Much lighter though pale and still lacking true colours.
The 3rd is my best attempt at adjusting in camera. Nicer, warmer colours but still dark compared to reality.

Attached Images

07-16-2011, 10:50 AM   #5
Veteran Member