Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-18-2011, 04:49 AM   #1

Best options for starter lens KR

Hi Guys,

So I'm about ready to buy a camera, I have decided on the K-r. So I thought that was the hard part.

I'm a complete novice, and lens options are beyond me. I have heard that the kit lens 18-55 is one of the best kit lens around and is pretty versatile.

I've seen bundles around where I can get the kit lens and a 55-300m lens for about $150 more. I like the idea of having a bit of versatility as I've no idea what I will ultimately take pictures of, but at the same time am reluctant to

I have also seen an option to have a sigma lens, I think it's 18-125mm. this seems to me to be a nice compromise between lugging two lens around and buying a lens that I may never use.

Any thoughts about the best path to take? the stock lens, stock plus zoom, or the stock/zoom combination in a single lens? A friend seemed to think that the stock lens is all that I'd really need at this stage.

If anybody could offer any advice on what the mm mean. I think it means focal length, but I don't understand what that means. Similarly, I've no idea what the letters mean. The stock lens and the -300mm are DAL and the sigma (18-125) is a HSM?

Any help would be appreciated
Cheers
Mark

07-18-2011, 05:36 AM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I'm not familiar with the Sigma 18-125. But the Pentax DA L 55-300 is a very good lens. If you get that with the 18-55 kit lens, you'll be covered pretty well. You can then get out and take photos and see what focal lengths appeal to you the most.

Once you get an idea of your favorite focal lengths and what type of photography interests you, you can then delve into prime (fixed focal length) lenses. And you'll have a good idea of which ones to focus on, based on your established habits.

Here's a good article that explains focal length and what 'mm' means.