Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-19-2011, 03:09 PM   #1
Inactive Account

ME Super or KM?

Hey everyone, I'm taking an intro photography class and I'm not too happy with the lender camera they provided me with. It's a canon EOS 650, which is a nice camera, but I would really like to learn on a manual focus and be forced to learn how to use different shutter speeds and aperture settings myself.

I've done a fair amount of research on MX's, KX's, KM's, ME Supers and even Super Programs. I was set on an MX, but all of the ones I find are a little outside of what I would like to spend on a camera for this class or are in rough shape. I have the opportunity to get an ME Super (body only) with new foam seals and decent warranty or a KM (body only) for about the same price. I have 2 lenses that will fit them (both k-mounts right?) so I'm looking for user opinions to see which one I should get.

Keep in mind I'm brand new to film photography and SLRs in general (I've only had a week and a half of classes thus far) so if you could be sure to explain the major advantages of each camera in terms I can understand that would be great. Thanks in advance.

EDIT: A little about the class: We have to take, develop and print all of the pictures ourselves. We're using Kodak 400 ISO Tri-X B&W film and printing on Kentmere RC paper.

Last edited by skier08; 07-19-2011 at 03:27 PM.
07-19-2011, 03:14 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
why do you need a warranty exactly? my old film bodies are all built like tanks (ME, Program Plus, K1000).
if given the choice between those 2, i'd pick the ME super. It has the faster max shutter speed, faster sync speed for flash and is smaller/lighter as well
07-19-2011, 03:22 PM   #3
Inactive Account

Original Poster