Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-25-2011, 05:28 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Albums
Pentax F 35-70 lens help urgently needed

Hi, I'm a genuine newbie, so that's why I posted here rather than the lens section) with a Kx that I truly love, but I haven't been satisfied with the sharpness of many of my pictures. So I bought an SMC Pentax-F 35-70, 3.5-4.5 zoom lens off ebay because it got good reviews here on the forum, it was auto-focus, reviewers said it was fairly sharp, and I got it for reasonably cheap ($70). Well, it arrived today and I was excited to try it out, but now I don't know if I bought a bum lens or if there is something about the camera-lens connection that I don't understand.

For starters, I can't change the focal length at all. The focal length ring has no effect on anything. It turns, but nothing changes. I've got 4 other lenses and have never had this problem. Secondly, the thing has a terrible time finding focus. Even outside in daylight the lens just hunts and hunts and hunts. Sometimes it actually finds focus, but I've had more luck with it on manual. I know it can take sharp pictures because some of the manual shots I took were very sharp (for me, at least), and even some of the auto-focus pics were sharp. But usually the lens just hunts and hunts and never focuses.

So I need to know whether I got a bad lens or if there is some button or dial or menu item that I don't have set right. I can't imagine anybody selling a lens that actually has all of these problems. (Oh, and the aperture can only be set in camera with the ring set to A.)

Can anybody help? I don't know whether to send it back or what to do with it. I'd hate to send it back and have it be something I was doing wrong. Thanks, Jim

07-25-2011, 05:42 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I think I was bidding on that one!