Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
07-28-2011, 11:12 AM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Albums
recomposing on a manual lens

i have k-x and thinking of getting a manual lens the pentax 50mm f2. now k-x cant move the AF points so how do i recompose my shots (rule of thirds) and still keep the focus where i want it?

07-28-2011, 11:24 AM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
If you're using a manual lens, the AF points won't matter. Set the camera to Manual focus if you trust your skill and just focus (you should still get the AF beep), recompose, and shoot. Note also that these lenses will only work in M mode unless it is an A type lens.

07-28-2011, 11:39 AM   #3
Forum Member

Original Poster
ya its an A type. so my initial center focus will still be sharp once i recompose? just dont go too far from my initial focus? im new to this so if you guys have any tricks about manual lenses (older pentax lenses) and how to keep it sharp after recomposing kindly enlighten me. ty.
07-28-2011, 11:42 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Welcome aboard the Manual Focus express.

There are a good number of threads here on manual focus lenses, tricks, ideas, suggestions,etc.

just poke around with the search feature. Many are on the Pentax SLR Lens Discussion - PentaxForums.com forum here.

Good Luck.

07-28-2011, 11:52 AM   #5
Inactive Account

QuoteOriginally posted by varyabol Quote
ya its an A type. so my initial center focus will still be sharp once i recompose? just dont go too far from my initial focus? im new to this so if you guys have any tricks about manual lenses (older pentax lenses) and how to keep it sharp after recomposing kindly enlighten me. ty.