Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-03-2011, 07:06 PM   #1

Need Help Deciding On An Investment

I have almost $100 to invest on my camera(Pentax K-X).

What do you think I should buy? I'm new to this and I'm trying to expand my horizon. I have a very small studio with a muslin backdrop 3 lights(2 umbrella).

I was thinking of maybe buying a macro lenses, or a wide angle lens, or a ring flash. Perhaps more studio equipment, I dunno...

Currently for my camera I only have a 18-55mm zoom lens and a 55-300mm zoom lens. I also already purchased a flash diffuser just to try out.

I like taking portraits and close-ups.

Any advice on what I should spend my $100 on?

08-03-2011, 07:25 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Pentax-A 50mm F1.7 Reviews - A Prime Lenses - Pentax Lens Reviews & Complete Lens Database

$100 should easily land you one of these if portraits are your thing.

08-03-2011, 07:45 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Being a cheap bastard, I'll recommend scouring eBay for a cheap bellows, some cheap enlarger lenses (ELs), and some cheap adapters and tubes. I wrote https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-lens-articles/152336-cheap-macro-b...lose-work.html to cover some of that. Some cheap items:

* M42 bellows, probably for under US$40 (the most expensive part of this kit).
* ELs around 75mm (for macros), 100mm (for macros and portraits), 130mm (for general short tele work). Those should be around US$5 each.
* Many ELs are M39 mount, so a cheap M39-M42 adapter (under US$5).
* A cheap safe flanged no-infinity-focus M42-PK adapter (under US$5).
* A cheap set of M42 macro tubes (under US$10).

For something totally else: an M42 Super-Takumar 55/1.8 lens (under US$50); the M42 tube set I mentioned above; and a good third-party infinity-focus M42-PK adapter (under US$20). The lens by itself is splendid for portraits and for very sharp general work. Put it on tubes and it's great for macros.