Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-08-2011, 10:10 AM   #1

Software Recommendations

Hello all, so I am new to DSLR photography, and I need a software upgrade for editing. I've had a P&S for awhile, and have been using Paint Shop Pro for a number of years, but I don't think it is going to be able to do everything I want it to, or be able to scale up with me as I learn more. So, what programs do you recommend for processing? I've gleaned the following so far from various posts around the forums:

Lightroom 3
Adobe Photoshop
Adobe Camera Raw
GIMP
Also "AutoHDR" or something like that, I can't remember the exact name

Any opinions on which are the best? Any I am missing?

Thanks!

08-08-2011, 10:20 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Your camera should have come with some software which you might find acceptable.

Lightroom and Photoshop are not really equivalents, Adobe Camera Raw isn't available separately but is how both LR and PS process RAW images. GIMP is a free alternative to Photoshop, and AutoHDR is for HDR processing which you won't be wanting to do all the time - it's an add-on to normal processing.

You have PaintShopPro which is quite good in many ways and may well be good enough for now especially with RawTherapee to 'develop' RAW images. I switched from PSP to Photoshop as 1) I wanted 16-bit processing, 2) colour-managed workflow is hard in PSP and 3) there were some new features in CS4 I wanted. I was able to quality for a student licence which saved .

If you think PSP can't do everything you want, how about you tell us what those things are?
08-08-2011, 11:10 AM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by cats_five Quote
Your camera should have come with some software which you might find acceptable.