Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-15-2011, 04:23 PM   #1
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Adaptall-2 to M42

Hi.

I am brand new to Pentaxes...as a matter of fact, I will be receiving my first one tomorrow. So, I am still a bit confused on some of the concepts of using certain lenses on Pentaxes.

I saw an add for an adaptall-2. I understand they are decent quality lenses. I have some M42s which I use on my Nikon DSLR, but M42s are not ideal on Nikons.

If I get an Adaptall-2 lens with an adapter for M42 mounts, will I be able to focus to infinity? I have an infinity adapted that I bought for using M42 lenses on a Pentax, but I am wondering if the adaptall-2 to M42 adapter adds distance which makes infinity focusing impossible.

Also, I don't know anything about the K or PK mount yet (which is why I am trying to find out more). Is there a more direct mount to say a Pentax K20D with an adaptall-2 lens? If so, is there functionality not obtained in I go through the M42 mount?

Thanks...

Steve

Last edited by Spodeworld; 08-15-2011 at 05:26 PM.
08-15-2011, 07:10 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Yes, with an Adaptall2-M42 or Adaptall2-PK adapter, you will be able to focus to infinity on a PK-mount camera like your new dSLR. To use any M42 lens, either native or adapted, you will also need an M42-PK adapter, of which there are several kinds:

* the Official Pentax adapter has a thin mounting flange, is safe to use, but may cost US$40 depending on your source
* cheap clones of the Official Pentax adapters cost much less, often in the US$10 area, but YOU MUST REMOVE THE RETAINING SCREW AND CLIP OR YOU WILL GO APESH!T!!
* a cheap safe adapter with wide mounting flange, also for under US$10, but it does not allow for infinity focus -- best for bellows, macro tubes, closeup lenses, etc