Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-15-2011, 08:48 AM   #1

Lenses for *ist DS

Hello all! I am new to DSLR photography. I just bought a *ist DS from a co-worker for $300. It came with an 80-200 lens and a 28-80 (plus filters for both). I've read reviews and learned that these are really poor quality lenses. All I know is that the photos I've taken so far with them have been blurry. I don't know if this is because of the lens quality, the fact that I'm not holding the camera steady, or I just don't know what I'm doing. Probably all three! I'm looking for a good everyday lens that's not expensive....say under $200. I enjoy taking photos of architecture, nature (with some macro for both of those), my cat...stuff like that. So some zoom would be nice. Any suggestions?

I've signed up for a six-week digital photography class that hopefully will teach me about ISO, f-stops, using lenses and the like. I've always used point-and-shoot cameras so this is new territory.

Thanks for your advice.

09-15-2011, 09:26 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Wait until after you've done the course. Unless damaged, no Pentax lens should produce blurry images; it's probably technique.

Besides which, once you get into photography more (and at the end of the course) you'll want specific lenses for certain types of photography. You don't buy a lens just on price - you buy for a purpose.

Welcome, and enjoy your camera
09-15-2011, 09:40 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Your issue could be related to slow shutter speed. If you post an example or two, it would help focus (pun intended) the discussion

Here are a couple of free on-line camera simulators that will help you visualize the relationship between ISO - Aperture - Shutter Speed.

The SimCam: Film and Digital Camera Simulator - Photonhead.com

Aperture, shutter and ISO value | SLR Camera Simulator

This one even has a couple of camera modes, aperture priority (Av) and shutter priority (Tv)