Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-24-2011, 05:01 AM   #1

K7 Manual Mode AE-L annoyances

Afternoon,

I'm new to photography and bought a Pentax K-7

The problem i'm having, and i'm sure its just a setting i'm overlooking, is in manual mode.

When i'm adjusting shutter speed and aperture the AE-L symbol locks on, from there on if i adjust the shutter speed it changes the aperature as well (i can cancel this by pressing the AE-L button, but it does it constantly)

Obviously this gets annoying when i want to stick with either the shutter or aperature i had set!

Hope this makes sense, any ideas?

Ta
Phil

09-24-2011, 12:02 PM   #2
Ole
Administrator

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Check custom function 5 ("AE-L with AF locked"), it should be set to "1 (Off)".

Last edited by Ole; 09-24-2011 at 12:18 PM.
09-24-2011, 12:19 PM   #3
Pentaxian

If my camera is doing that, I have not noticed. That would be bad.

Check Custom Setting 1, #5, AE-L with AF Locked. If it's on, turn it off. That's the only suggestion I have from reading the manual.
09-25-2011, 11:14 AM   #4

Original Poster
Yup, she's set to 1!

Still does it!

If i set an aperature of say 4.5 then scroll the shutter dial it displays the ae-l symbol then starts moving the aperature i set...

Doing my head in now

09-25-2011, 02:54 PM   #5
Pentaxian

My K-7 doesn't do this, and further reading of the manual suggests it shouldn't be happening.

If it was a stuck button, it would lock exposure in many other modes, except for modes like Bulb and X, so you could check that.

There's two options in the menus to reset to the default settings. One is in [Set-Up 3] and the other is in [Custom Setting 6].

It's not a problem listed in any firmware updates but that's my last desperation idea.
09-26-2011, 12:06 AM   #6

Original Poster