Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
09-28-2011, 03:31 AM   #1
Forum Member

Unable to Focus on both foreground and background

Hi Guys,
I tried to bring the foreground and background together into focus but I succeeded to achieve only one at a time. With my little knowledge, I tried like increasing f- stop number(I used a tripod then). But no luck. I've used Pentax A 50mm f1.7, and a M 28mm f2.8 on my K-r. I'm just finding the bridge between the practical and theory. Also i've struggled to get a well lit photo against a bright landscape. I'd to use an external flash for this(pop-up flash is not enough). With point and shoot camera I could take these kind of pics very easily even with single hand. Please help me to overcome this with your inputs.
Best Regards,
Vass.
Note: I know few basics of SLR and I'm new to use it.

09-28-2011, 04:14 AM - 1 Like   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
You seem to know the theory - that a smaller aperture results in a greater depth of field. The DOF is a range of distances for which there is acceptable focus eihter side of the focus position at which the lens is set. If you are using typical new lenses (eg DA 18-55) the lens is intended for auto focus and does not have markings on it to assist manual focusing with awareness of the DOF.
Manual focus lenses do have such markings - so you can seen the band of distances which would be within the DOF for the aperture and focus setting. (Since the DOF is also a function of focal length it is more difficult to show this on a zoom.)
A focus technique you might usefully experiment with is to use these markings and set the lens so that the infinity focus settign is at one end of the DOF range for the apeture and then everyting to the other end of the band should be acceptably focused. The limitation of this method is that you need a lens with the DOF markings and points near to each end of the range will become progressively less sharp.