looking at ND filters
what is the difference between nd2 nd4 and nd8
what are uses for each filter
any photo examles for each

thanks
sorry just a noob here

10-02-2011, 04:14 AM   #2
Forum Member

I'd suggest doing a lot of web searching to get the basics of the question answered. Wiki has a nice chart that shows light transmittance and such, it can be found here. There are several photography blogs out there that talk further about the filters and their uses. I have a Hoya NDX400, certainly it would be helpful to also have a graduated filter so some of the brighter parts of the scene don't get washed out (if you wanted to shoot a waterfall with some of the sky above showing).

I think the thought behind the smaller stop ND filters is the ability to stack them up to get different effects, and shoot at different times of the day. With the NDX400, I find myself exposing the sensor for 400sec or more, if it is getting close to dusk or dawn, you may only need a 2 or 3 stop filter and still get the same effect a 9 stop filter could give you at noon.

Hope that info helps, I'm also a noob.
10-02-2011, 10:57 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Neutral density filter - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
10-02-2011, 01:28 PM   #4
Veteran Member

nd4 is twice as dark as nd2... nd4 is half as dark as nd8...

I have an nd8 and am shopping for an nd4 to go with it... Use it for slowing down water...

10-02-2011, 02:11 PM   #5
Pentaxian

The value of an ND filter is that it can allow you to use a longer shutter speed to blur motion, and/or a wider aperture for selective focus, than you could otherwise. 4x is probably the lowest value that makes sense to buy, if you want only one filter. You can also use a polarizing filter, set to minimal polarization, as somewhat of a substitute for a low-powered ND filter.

Paul
10-02-2011, 02:36 PM   #6
Veteran Member