Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-24-2011, 12:33 AM   #1

how to get this vignette effect?

Hi everyone! I am a beginner photographer using a pentax SF-1 with a SMC Pentax-F Zoom 35-70 mm lens. I recently got some pictures developed and I noticed in one of the pictures it had vignetting. Heres the picture:

I really like this effect and would like to utilize it occasionally, but I have no idea how I actually achieved it. So my question is, does anyone know what kind of settings I would need to set my camera to or what to do with my lens to recreate this effect? Thanks in advance!

10-24-2011, 12:49 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
If you're not shooting digital it might be a pain to consistently recreate something like this, but there are lots of things that can cause this much vignetting:
-stacked filters
-wrong/special lens hood
-an issue with the lens

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com's high server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover those costs by donating. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:

10-24-2011, 01:12 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Your lens hood was probably too long for the focal length. What lens were you using on what camera body?
10-24-2011, 02:44 PM   #4
Veteran Member

A sure way to reproduce this is to use a threaded hood that's a size or two too small for your lens, mounted on one or two step down rings. With a lens like the kit 18-55 you can reliably cause this kind of vignetting below about 35mm this way. It's really pronounced, excessive even, at the 18mm end. That's using a 49mm hood with a 52-49mm step down ring.

However, for digital, it's far better imo to do this in software. ACR has options for it, and can produce some nice, subtler effects.