Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-27-2011, 05:13 AM   #1

Why do my autosettings result in such poor pictures?

I am a communications professional, and when I started my new job, there was a Pentax K-m here that was purchased by my predecessor, to take photos of events and whatnot. I tend to rely solely on the auto-settings, because things happen quickly at these events, and when I'm handing out media kits, meeting people, making last-minute adjustments to speaking notes, AND am responsible for all of the photos at the event, I don't really have time to futz around with different apertures and shutter speeds. However, all of the photos that I take with this Pentax are just...not impressive. They're not sharp, the colors are not true, and everything just looks dull and noisy.

I thought maybe it was just me, but this morning I did a test by taking pics of the same items, under the same lighting, using both the Pentax and also using my personal camera, a Canon Rebel T1i. There is a marked difference between the photos. I've uploaded a couple here, as well as the shot information showing the ISO, shutter speed, etc. (I deliberately picked two photos where they wound up with the same aperture and shutter speed, so that we can maybe narrow down the issue a bit more easily.) I'm wondering if anybody can give me any advice on what is going on and why I can't get good photos out of this camera. I've also attached an outdoor shot taken on full auto with the Pentax, which shows a lot more noise.

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-m  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-m  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
Canon EOS REBEL T1i  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
Canon EOS REBEL T1i  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-m  Photo 
10-27-2011, 05:31 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums