Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-29-2011, 10:26 AM   #1

Do I need to get my lens cleaned?

So I've had this M-50mm F1.4 for about 3-4 months now and I notice that my bokeh shots have these things in all of them. Does anyone know what could be causing them? Should I go and get this lens checked out? Personally it doesn't bother me THAT much in other shots. mostly curious...

Attached Images

10-29-2011, 10:56 AM   #2
Site Supporter

I have no idea but could it be fungus? Have you taken a good look through your lens from the front and back elements on various angles in good light? If you see any strands that look like the stuff in your bokeh on the glass elements (inside or out) its prob fungus. Which I think can be cleaned but could be pricey.

Is the lens hazy at all in its general performance?

I am no expert though, maybe this is some other phenomenon
10-29-2011, 12:30 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter

Can you post a picture of the glass? That should be visible on one of the lens elements if it is a lens artifact.
10-30-2011, 02:09 PM   #4

Original Poster
As requested, here are some images.

Attached Images

10-31-2011, 04:11 AM   #5
Veteran Member

I see no fungus in the lens bur lots of specks but that shouldnt be causing that problem i think
10-31-2011, 04:27 AM   #6
Loyal Site Supporter

Wondering if it isn't perhaps something on the sensor and we are seeing a reflection off the rear element.
10-31-2011, 09:05 AM   #7
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Shine a flashlight through the lens while looking at it from the other end. That will reveal everything that is inside the lens. If you see something with a pattern that matches the one in your shots, then yes, the lens could stand a cleaning.

10-31-2011, 02:28 PM   #8

Original Poster