Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-31-2011, 03:17 AM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
Question about DOF

Hi!

I am a beginner in DSLR field. So may be my question is silly a little bit. I have read some texts (Wikipedia, etc.) about DOF and even carried out some DOF calculations in Excel on my own. However, I do not feel very strong and knowing in the concept of DOF.
As I understand, in theory, the length of DOF is determined only by four factors – focal length of lens, distance to object, aperture and circle of confusion. In turn, the circle of confusion is determined by the size of the camera’s sensor. For example, it is 0.02 mm for Pentax K-x (my camera) and for cameras with sensor that have the same crop factor. This theory is very nice, straightforward and even quite simple. Just input four figures in Excel and you get the result .
So theoretically the length of DOF for different lenses with the same focal length and the aperture (if the same camera is used) will be equal because all four parameters will be the same. For example, I have a standard kit lens DA L 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 AL. If I open aperture to F3.5 (maximum for my lens) and set focal length to 18 mm, the hyperfocal distance will be 4.56 m, according to theoretic formulae. If I focus camera to the object 5 m away, I should get sharp image from 2.39 m away from camera to infinity. Theoretically I can achieve the same DOF by more expensive and high quality lens which has maximal aperture smaller that F3.5 (e.g. F2.8 or even F1.4) if I set its aperture to F3.5. However, I am not sure that these both lenses will perform equally in practice .
The second point is the real sharpness of image. Theoretically, I can shoot landscape pictures at F3.5 with my standard kit lens and I should get sharp image due to large DOF. However, I am not sure that I can really take sharp landscape images at aperture F3.5 with my lens.